top of page


Tennis Australia have announced this years Newcombe Medal nominees as part of the 2021 Australian Tennis Awards to be held virtually on December 17th.

Grand Slam Champions Dylan Alcott, Ash Barty, John Peers and Sam Stosur will all be vying for the most distinguished award in Australian Tennis.

The Australian Tennis Awards will also celebrate the achievements of Australia’s tennis community across 13 award categories with tennis clubs, volunteers, officials, coaches, schools and talented junior players all recognised for their outstanding achievements and contributions to tennis throughout 2021.


- Australian Open Singles & Doubles Title, French Open Singles Title, Wimbledon Singles Title, Tokyo Paralympics Singles Title and US Open Singles Title to achieve the 'Golden Slam'.


- 5 Singles titles including the Yarra Valley Classic, Miami Open, Stuttgart, Wimbledon and Cincinnati Open, plus a mixed doubles bronze medal with John Peers at the Tokyo Olympics. Secured the year end number one ranking for a third straight year.


- Singles titles in Geneva with Michael Venus and at the ATP Masters 1000 Indian Wells with Filip Polasek. Contested a further four semi finals including at the US Open and was a mixed doubles bronze medalist with Ash Barty at the Tokyo Olympics.


- Mixed Doubles runner up at the Australian Open, won Cincinatti Open and US Open doubles titles with Shuai Zhang of China and made the quarter finals of the Tokyo Olympics women's doubles with Ellen Perez.

Please see below for a full list of finalists for the 2021 Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards:

Coaching Excellence Club

Finalists: Domenic Marafiote (ETKG Tennis Club, SA), Gemma Eaton (Murwillumbah Tennis Club, NSW), Tim Lowe (Redland Bay Tennis Club, Qld)


Coaching Excellence Development

Finalists: Sam Wall (Coromandel Valley Tennis Club, SA), Joe Porley (Brenan Park Tennis Centre, NSW), James Connelly (Hensman Park Tennis Club, WA)


Coaching Excellence Performance

Finalists: Francois Vogelsberger (Vic), David Taylor (Vic), Wayne Arthurs (Qld), Craig Tyzzer (Qld)


Excellence in Officiating

Finalists: Marko Savic (NSW), Louise Widdowson (Tas), Rosario Corvaia (WA)


Female Junior Athlete of the Year

Finalists: Taylah Preston (WA), Roisin Gilheany (Vic), Lily Taylor (Qld)


Male Junior Athlete of the Year

Finalists: Philip Sekulic (Qld), Charlie Camus (ACT), Edward Winter (SA), James McCabe (NSW)


Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability

Finalists: Timothy Gould (Qld), Ben Weekes (NSW), Andriana Petrakis (SA)


Most Outstanding Club

Finalists: Fawkner Park Tennis Club (Vic), Broadview Tennis Club (SA), Collaroy Tennis Club (NSW)


Most Outstanding Professional Tournament

Finalists: Warrnambool Lawn Open (Vic), 2021 Head QLD State Age (Qld), 2020 City of Joondalup Junior Hardcourt Tournament (WA)


Most Outstanding School

Finalists: Mother Teresa School (ACT), Cobdogla Primary School (SA), Syndal South Primary School (Vic)


Most Outstanding 35+ Tennis Senior

Finalists: Glenn Busby (Vic), Sue Willis (ACT), Mary Gordon (NSW)


Volunteer Achievement Award

Finalists: Liz Tektonopoulos (Greenvale Tennis Club, Vic), Denzil Morrell (Corinthian Park Tennis Club, WA), Keith Daly (Samford Tennis Club, Qld)


bottom of page