top of page


A record seven Newcombe Medal nominees have been announced, with Ash Barty (Qld), Alex de Minaur (NSW), Matt Ebden (WA), Storm Hunter (nee Sanders) (WA), Nick Kyrgios (ACT), Max Purcell (NSW) and Ajla Tomljanovic (Qld) all vying for the prestigious award at the upcoming 2022 Australian Tennis Awards.

Returning to the Palladium at Crown on Monday 12th December, 26 time Grand Slam champion John Newcombe will present the winner with the coveted Newcombe Medal, the highest individual honour in Australian tennis.

The evening will include the presentation of 13 Australian Tennis Awards, celebrating the achievements and contributions of tennis clubs, volunteers, officials, coaches, schools and talented junior players.

The 2022 Australian Tennis Awards finalists:

Coaching Excellence Club

Finalists: Evolve Tennis Academy (Collaroy Tennis Club, NSW), David Grainger (Henley South Tennis Club, SA), Vicky Lee (Doncaster Tennis Club, Vic)

Coaching Excellence Development

Finalists: Luke Bourgeois (Voyager Tennis Academy, NSW), Clint Fyfe (Sunshine Coast Grammar School, Qld), Domenic Marafiote (High Performance Tennis, SA)

Coaching Excellence Performance

Finalists: Mark Draper (Qld), Jay Gooding (Qld), Craig Tyzzer (Vic)

Excellence in Officiating

Finalists: Glen Crosbie (WA), Christopher Dellas (Vic), Robyn Tucker (SA)

Female Junior Athlete of the Year

Finalists: Talia Gibson (WA), Emerson Jones (Qld), Taylah Preston (WA)

Male Junior Athlete of the Year

Finalists: Jeremy Jin (NSW), Hayden Jones (Qld), Edward Winter (SA)

Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability

Finalists: Heath Davidson (Vic), Archie Graham (Qld), Kelly Wren (NSW)

Most Outstanding Club

Finalists: Coburg Tennis Club (Vic), Collaroy Tennis Club (NSW), Total Tennis Mount Hutton (NSW), Redland Bay Tennis Club (Qld)

Most Outstanding Professional Tournament

Finalists: 2022 Head QLD State Age Junior Series (Qld), 2022 Nepean Easter (NSW), Labour Day Tournament Euroa Lawn Tennis Club (Vic)

Most Outstanding School

Finalists: Aitken Creek Primary School (Vic), Nightcliff Primary School (NT), Torrens Valley Christian School (SA)

Most Outstanding 35+ Tennis Senior

Finalists: Jarrod Broadbent (Vic), Ian Delbridge (SA), Graham Smith (ACT)

Volunteer Achievement Award

Finalists: Hendry Lukman (Tas), Nadine Maloney (Vic), Julie Polkinghorne (SA)

The Newcombe Medal is the most prestigious individual award in Australian tennis.


bottom of page