top of page


Storm Hunter has emerged as the only successful Australian at the 2023 Wimbledon Qualifying stages after winning her third round match against Japan’s Nao Hibino in straight sets 6-3, 6-4.

Hunter, will for the first time in her career, compete in the main draw at Wimbledon beginning on Monday alongside fellow Australian Daria Saville in the Ladies Singles.

Speaking after her tremendous qualifying victory, Hunter described how meaningful it was to be heading to Wimbledon next week.

“I don’t think I can really put it into words. It’s just really, really special. A special moment for not only me, but my team is well,” she said.

“It hasn’t really sunk in yet but I’m just so happy to be playing Wimbledon main draw.”

There were a cast of Australian’s out in force at Roehampton during the week with Marc Polmans and Olivia Gadecki just falling short in their third-round encounters.

Gadecki was beaten in straight sets against Jéssica Bouzas Maneiro who advances to the main draw for the first time in her career.

Meanwhile Polmans showed fight and endeavour against Oscar Otte with the German holding on in four sets.

It was a tough week for the Australian contingent with main hopes Thanasi Kokkinakis losing his first round qualifying match along with Rinky Hijikata.

Alex de Minaur will lead the charge for the Australian men with no news still on whether last year’s finalist Nick Kyrgios will play.

Gentleman’s Successful Qualifiers

Matteo Arnaldi (Italy)

Oscar Otte (Germany)

Maximillian Marterer (Germany)

Kimmer Coppejans (Belgium)

Radu Albot (Moldova)

Tomas Machac (Czech Republic)

Harold Mayot (France)

Dennis Novak (Austria)

Tomas Barrios Vera (Chile)

Dominic Stricker (Switzerland)

Gijs Brouwer (Netherlands)

Sho Shimabukuro (Japan)

Laurent Lokoli (France)

Enzo Couacaud (France)

Hamad Medjedovic (Serbia)

Shintaro Mochizuki (Japan)

Ladies Successful Qualifiers

Storm Hunter (Australia)

Carol Zhao (Canada)

Viktoria Hruncakova (Slovakia)

Natalija Stevanovic (Serbia)

Zhuoxuan Bai (China)

Yanina Wickmayer (Belgium)

Mirra Andreeva

Jessica Bouzas Maneiro (Spain)

Sofia Kenin (USA)

Viktorija Golubic (Switzerland)

Yue Yuan (China)

Kaja Juvan (Slovenia)

Greet Minnen (Belgium)

Simona Waltert (Switzerland)

Celine Naef (Switzerland)

Lucrezia Stefanini (Italy)

At this stage, 10 Australians will feature in the main draw to begin on Monday July 3 on the hallowed grounds of SW19.

Gentleman’s Main Draw

[15] Alex de Minaur

[31] Nick Kyrgios

Max Purcell

Chris O’Connell

Jordan Thompson

Jason Kubler

Aleks Vukic

Alexei Popyrin

Women’s Main Draw

Daria Saville (Protected ranking)

Storm Hunter (Qualifying)


bottom of page